Singapore-Kuala Lumpur Trip day 3: Muzium Negara

Hello world!!!

I remembered that I am not yet done posting about my Singapore and Kuala Lumpur trip last year.  Now, my personal challenge is to finish it before it will lapse to it’s first year.  Time really flies.  I feel that it was just yesterday but it will be November soon…..My deadline.  I realized that our trip was so packed, we really made sulit our trip.  We visited t0o many touristy spots  (thank you hop on hop off for easy navigation).   That posting it on a per day basis would be so lengthy and novel like. Hehe.  Imagine I am still on the third day of our trip.

Oki off to my travel musings…….My travel would not be complete without  visiting a museum.  That is why I will share to you today my experience in Muzium Negara.  You have to alite on bus stop number 12 of Hop on Hop off to go here.  This is located in Jalan Damasa, 50566 Kuala Lumpur to be exact.  Operating hours are from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM.  They are open daily except during the first day of Hari Raya Aidilfitri and Hari Raya Aidil Adha.  Admission fee is RM2.00 for adults and children above 12 years old and free to children in school uniforms.

The National museum is built 1962 and was officially opened by His Majesty, the Third Yand de-Pertuan Agong, Tuanku Syed Putra Al-Haj ibni Al-Marhum Syed Hassan Jamalullail (huh what a long name….) on August 31, 1963.  Imagine,  the museum can also qualify as an artifact….hehehe.  Even though the building is old it is well kept.  The museum’s architecture is a blend of traditional Malay style and adjusted with a modern touch.  The steps going up the museum is so cool.  The tiles are so artistic and really Malay looking and look at the glass mosaic.  So pretty.   I love going to museums.  Muzium Negara is divided into four galleries. Gallery A showcasing the early history, Gallery B the Malay Kingdoms, Gallery C the colonial era and gallery D Malaysia Today.  Galleries A and B are located in the ground floor and galleries C and D at the second floor.  I visit four galleries of course and walking through those galleries I am learning a lot about Malay and Malaysia from past to present. Great right?.   I will better show you the pictures.  There is always something new to learn and to be discovered.  Enjoy!!!!

Ok, now I am sure I am going to enter Muzium Negara

Look how pretty the museum looks.....

See how similar our word Pasok to their masuk......

The spacious lobby

I know those four people there....hehhe.....

Generally, this is how the gallery looks like.....It is dark and flash is not allowed......

These are random things I saw inside that I find interesting......The early fashion of Malay......

I also want to experience sleeping in this kind of bed.......

Bike now and then......

The rock with a word carved Allah

Cohesion of the elements of two creatures. Here is the fish and elephant. Both powerful creatures from land and sea. This carving in the olden days are usually placed on building entrance.

Mural of Hang Tuah. The legendary Malay warrior who is well know in Malay Kingdom of Melaka. Achieved the title of Laksaman.

Their early houses.....Looks similar with our bahay kubo right????

I cant help it. I love taking a post with people wearing their national attire. This man is kind enough to allow us to post with him. Maybe he is the royal guard of the museum.....

Malaysian Flags proudly hanging and freely waving.......

Thank you too.....I enjoyed my museum trip.

In case you are wondering who is taking my pictures when I wear my camera around my neck.....Presenting!!!! Caryl, travel buddy and fellow photography enthusiast.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kahlua recipe
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 21:08:43

    I really liked the way you presented this information. It nice to read good information like this rather than to waste your time doing nothing. Great Job! Thnkas for posting it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 672 other followers

